CrashPlan: Windows

CrashPlan is a network-based backup and recovery tool for personal computers and other devices. By default, CrashPlan will back up files in your user profile directory to a single account with a 50GB quota.

CrashPlan is available to faculty and staff through an annual site license. The initial cost is $65 with a $20 annual maintenance fee. Purchase CrashPlan at sitelicense.uark.edu.

Install and Back Up

  1. Download and install CrashPlan for Windows x32 or Windows x64.

  2. Open CrashPlan.

  3. Click Existing Account.

  4. Enter your UARK username and password.

  5. Enter cplan.uark.edu:4282 as the server address.

  6. Click Sign In.

  7. Configure your settings to change backup directories, exclude file types or specific filenames, and change scheduled times (for instructions, see below).

Exclude File Types or Names

Exclude certain files or file types from backups.

  1. Open CrashPlan.

  2. Click the Settings menu, and click the Backup tab.

  3. Next to Filename exclusion, click Configure.

  4. To exclude a file type, enter the file extension, for example, .mp3 or .jpg.
    To exclude a filename, enter the name and extension, for example, README.TXT.

  5. Click Add (+). Click OK.

Include or Exclude Directories

Select directories to be included or excluded in backups.

  1. Open CrashPlan.

  2. Click Backup. Click Change.

  3. Check the boxes for directories to be included in the backup, or uncheck the boxes for directories to be excluded from the backup.

  4. Click Save.

Restore Files

Restore files to your computer from a previous backup.

  1. Open CrashPlan.

  2. Click Restore. Select the computer to restore.

  3. If the computer is backed up to multiple locations, select a backup destination.
    Note: By default, computers are backed up to the university's CrashPlan server.

  4. By default, files are restored from the most recent backup. To restore files from a previous backup, click the blue "most recent" link near the bottom of the window, and select a date and time.

  5. Check the boxes for all folders and files to be included in the restore.

  6. By default, files will be restored to the original location. To select an alternate location, click the blue "original location" link and click "(Desktop)" to select a folder. Click Ok.

  7. By default, duplicate files will be renamed with the prefix "Original1." Click the blue "rename" link to overwrite duplicate files.

  8. Click Restore.

Last Reviewed:

[Permalink]

Comments


  1. Justin Miller
    Computer Operator
    02/19/2016
    2:19 pm

    Is 50GB the maximum capacity available with CrashPlan, or are there plans with higher amounts of storage available for a different rate?


    1. Walter Green
      Interim Dir. of Enterprise Sys
      02/19/2016
      4:21 pm

      Justin, there has not been a plan to increase the 50GB capacity for an additional fee at this time. Please be aware that the 50GB limitation is after the data has been compressed and deduplicated (redundant data is only backed up once) on the CrashPlan server.

Feel free to leave your questions or comments.

(Login required)